Talawanda school board chooses new leadership


Photo provided by Talawanda School District

The Talawanda Board of Education, left to right: David Bothast, Kathleen Knight-Abowitz, Chris Otto, Patrick Meade and Rebecca Howard.

The Talawanda Board of Education selected member Patrick Meade to serve as its president for the coming year and named member Rebecca Howard to serve as vice president at its Jan. 10 organizational meeting. 

The board also adopted a motion to change its regular board meetings from the first Monday of each month to 6:30 p.m. on the third Thursday of the month. This will give the board more time to study meeting agendas, which are prepared during the week by the administration, said Superintendent Ed Theroux.

The meeting began with Meade, who was re-elected this past November, and board newcomer David Bothast, also elected in November, taking their oaths of office from District Treasurer, Shaunna Tafelski.

Meade, a retired teacher, was first elected to the board in 2017. He succeeds board member Chris Otto as president. Bothast is a teacher in the Hamilton City School District. Howard, elected in 2019, is an education professor at Miami University.

The board assigned each member to serve as a representative for one of the district’s schools. Meade will represent Bogan Elementary, Otto will represent Kramer Elementary, Bothast will cover Marshall Elementary, Howard will deal with Talawanda Middle School and member Kathleen Knight-Abowitz will represent Talawanda High School. 

A full meeting schedule is available on the Talawanda district website.