Election 2022: Midterm guide to Oxford elections


By Patrick Geshan

With the critical midterm election already underway, Butler County voters are selecting the candidates they’d like to hold national, statewide, and local office. 

Early voting began Oct. 12, with election day slated for Tuesday, Nov. 8. 

Turnout is already up in early voting from previous midterms, according to Butler County Board of Elections Director Nicole Unzicker. 

She and Deputy Director Eric Corbin predict a higher turnout this year than previous midterm elections. Corbin said county officials expect voter turnout to be 50-55%, near where it was across the area for the 2018 gubernatorial election. 

Corbin encourages citizens to make a plan to vote as soon as possible, using one of the three options voters in the county can utilize to cast their ballot. Corbin said voters who plan to vote on election day should map out when during their daily routine they will hit the polls.

“Just make a plan,” Corbin said. “The best plan is to have a plan. If you wait until election day to make your plan, it might be too late.”

Unzicker stressed that voters must bring a valid ID to their polling place, and must be sure to follow all instructions for mail-in ballots. 

How to vote: 

Citizens have three options for voting.

“All of them are equally as good,” said Corbin.

  1. Vote early. Early in-person voting in Butler County is open weekdays until the Monday before Election Day, November 7, at Butler County’s Board of Elections office on 1802 Princeton Road, Suite 600 in Hamilton. Weekday hours are 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. Early voting is also available on Saturday, Oct. 29, Saturday, Nov. 5, and Sunday November 6th. Saturday hours are 8 a.m.-4 p.m. Sunday hours are 1 p.m.-5 p.m. Nov. 7, the Monday before election day, early voting is open during the special hours of 8 a.m. – 2 p.m.
  2. Vote by mail. Voters must complete, print, and sign an Absentee Ballot Application form, available on the Butler County Board of Elections website to receive their ballot in the mail. Forms can be returned by mail to 1802 Princeton Road, Suite 600 in Hamilton, OH 45011, and in-person or inside the 24-hour secure drop box at the Board of Elections office. Mail-in ballots must be postmarked by Monday, Nov. 7 to be valid, or received to the Board of Elections by 7:30 p.m. on Election Day at its office. Voters can track the status of their mail-in ballots at this page. 
  3. Vote in-person. Precincts will be open Tuesday, Nov. 8, from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. Voters can find their polling place by visiting this page and inputting their personal information. Voters can also check their registration status here. Ohio’s voter registration deadline was Oct. 11. 

What’s on the ballot in the city of Oxford: 

U.S. Senator: In a closely watched race nationally, U.S. Representative and Democrat Tim Ryan faces author, Butler County native, and Republican JD Vance. 

Representative to U.S. House (8th District): Incumbent and Republican Warren Davidson re-matches with Vanessa Enoch, a Democrat. 

Representative to Ohio House (47th District): Incumbent Sara Carruthers, a Republican and life-long Butler County resident, looks to represent the newly-drawn 47th district against 19-year-old Democrat Sam Lawrence, a Miami student from Toledo.  

Ohio Governor and Lieutenant Governor: Incumbent Governor Mike DeWine, a Republican, along with current Ohio Lieutenant Governor Jon Hustead, look for another term in office against Democratic Gubernatorial candidate Nan Whaley, and her Lieutenant Governor running-mate Cheryl Stephens. 

Ohio Attorney General: Dave Yost, the incumbent Republican, is challenged by Jeffrey Crossman, a Democrat. 

Ohio Auditor of State: Incumbent Keith Faber, a Republican, seeks another term against Democratic challenger Taylor Sappington. 

Ohio Secretary of State: Republican incumbent Frank LaRose is challenged by Democrat Chelsea Clark, and Terpsehore Tore Maras, who does not list an official party.

Ohio Treasurer of State: Robert Sprague, the incumbent Republican, squares up with Democrat Scott Schertzer.  

Chief Justice of the Ohio Supreme Court: Sharon Kennedy, a Republican, matches up with Jennifer Bruner, a Democrat, for the top spot on Ohio’s Supreme Court. 

Justice of the Ohio Supreme Court (1): Republican Pat Fisher goes up against Democrat Terri Jameson. 

Justice of the Ohio Supreme Court (2): Marilyn Zayas, a Democrat, will match up with Republican Pat DeWine. 

Judge of Court of Appeals (12th District): Robin N. Piper, a Republican, is running unopposed. Republican Mike Powell is also running unopposed. 

Butler County Commissioner: Cindy Carpenter, the incumbent Republican, runs against Latisha Hazell, a Democrat. 

Butler County Auditor: Incumbent Republican Roger Reynolds attempts to hold his seat against Democratic challenger Mike Dalesandro. 

Member of Ohio State Board of Education (3rd District): Charlotte McGuire, who does not list a party, runs unopposed. 

Judge of the Court of Common pleas: Gregory Stephens runs unopposed. 

Judge of Court of Common Pleas (Juvenile Division): Daniel Phillips will be on the ballot unopposed.

Judge of Court of Common Pleas (Domestic Relations Division) (1): Barbara S. Carter runs without opponents. 

Judge of Court of Common Pleas (Domestic Relations Division) (2): Margot Halcomb is unopposed. 

Judge of the County Court (Area 1): Robert H. Lyons runs by himself. 

Judge of the County Court (Area 3): Courtney Caparella-Kramer is unopposed. 

Issue 1: Would require Ohio’s courts, when setting bail amounts, to consider elements including seriousness of the offense, a person’s criminal record, the likelihood of a person returning to court, and any other factor the Ohio General Assembly may prescribe. This issue would remove the Ohio Supreme Court’s power in establishing the amount and conditions of bail. Ohio Governor Mike DeWine and Gubernatorial candidate Nan Whaley have both stated they will vote yes on issue 1. 

Issue 2: Would reinforce Ohio rules for who is eligible to vote in a state election. The language would read people who vote in Ohio elections can only be “citizens of the United States, who are at least 18 years of age and have been a legal resident and registered voter for at least 30 days, can vote at any state or local election held in Ohio.” The issue would also prohibit local governments from allowing a person to vote in local elections who is not qualified to vote in statewide elections. Both gubernatorial candidates in Ohio have stated they will vote yes on this issue. 

Issue 5: A proposed new operating tax levy by the Talawanda School District. Ballots say the levy would cost taxpayers $0.57 per $100 in property value. The District says it needs increased funds to continue operating its current programs. 

Issue 6: A renewal levy for Butler County’s Public Children Services agency that would amount to $0.20 per $100 in property value. The levy would continue funding the Children Services agency and its programs for abused, neglected, and dependent children in the county. 


Unzicker said any voters with questions can call the Board of Elections office at (513) 887-3700. All voters can check their registration status, local polling place, and view a sample ballot for their residential location at this page by inputting their name and address: https://elections.bcohio.gov/am_i_registered/index.php.   

Both Unzicker and Corbin said preparation for the midterms has been underway for several months, with poll-worker training, ballot building, machine testing, and other items. They anticipate a smooth election this fall. 

“We’ve used this process in multiple elections,” Corbin said. “We know what we’re doing.”

“We are ready to go,” Unzicker followed.